The weight of nature : how a changing climate changes our brains
(Book)

Book Cover
Published
[New York, New York] : Dutton, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC, [2024].
ISBN
9780593472743, 0593472748
Physical Desc
320 pages ; 24 cm
Status

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Brookline - New BooksON ORDEROn Order
LocationCall NumberStatus
Arlington - New Books304.28 ALDChecked Out
Brookline - New Books304.2 Aldern 2024On Shelf
Cambridge - New Books304.28 AldernBilled
Cambridge Valente - Adult304.28 AldernIn Processing
Framingham McAuliffe - New Books304.28 AldernOn Shelf
Show All Copies

More Details

Published
[New York, New York] : Dutton, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC, [2024].
Format
Book
Language
English
ISBN
9780593472743, 0593472748

Notes

General Note
Place of publication from publisher's website.
Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Description
"For readers of Kolbert's Under a White Sky and Merlin Sheldrake's Entangled Life, to all those who love science books about the brain The effects of climate change on our brains are a public health crisis that has gone largely unreported. Based on six years of research, award-winning journalist and trained neuroscientist Clayton Page Aldern synthesizes the emerging neuroscience, psychology, and behavioral economics of climate change and brain health. A masterpiece of deeply reported, superb literary journalism, this book shows readers how a changing environment is changing us, today, from the inside out. Aldern calls it the weight of nature. Newly named mental conditions include: climate grief, ecoanxiety, environmental melancholia, pre-traumatic stress disorder. High-schoolers are preparing for a chaotic climate with the same combination of urgency, fear, and resignation they reserve for active-shooter drills. But mostly, as Aldern richly details, we don't realize what global warming is doing to our brains. More heat means it is harder to think straight and solve problems. It influences serotonin release, which in turn increases the chance of impulsive violence. Air pollution from wildfires and smokestacks affects everything from sleeplessness to baseball umpires' error rates. Immigration judges are more likely to reject asylum applications on hotter days. And these kinds of effects are not easily medicated, since certain drugs we might look to just aren't as effective at higher temperatures. Heatwaves and hurricanes can wear on memory, language, and pain systems. Wildfires seed PTSD. And climate-fueled ecosystem changes extend the reach of brain-disease carriers like the mosquitos of cerebral-malaria fame, brain-eating amoebae, and the bats that brought us the mental fog of long Covid. From farms in the San Joaquin Valley and public schools across the US to communities in Norway's arctic, Micronesian islands, and the French Alps, this is a disturbing, unprecedented portrait of a global crisis we thought we understood"--,Provided by publisher.

Description

Loading Description...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

NoveList

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Aldern, C. P. (2024). The weight of nature: how a changing climate changes our brains . Dutton, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Aldern, Clayton Page, 1990-. 2024. The Weight of Nature: How a Changing Climate Changes Our Brains. Dutton, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Aldern, Clayton Page, 1990-. The Weight of Nature: How a Changing Climate Changes Our Brains Dutton, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC, 2024.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Aldern, Clayton Page. The Weight of Nature: How a Changing Climate Changes Our Brains Dutton, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC, 2024.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.